Manage Roles in your event

Managing events using DoAttend has always been easy for event organizers. But for medium and large-sized events, it is better to have extra hands that can make your life easier and get things done faster.

In DoAttend, if you want to let others manage your event, you have to share your account credentials with them. And they would have full access to all your events, invoices, statements and other critical data. There was not a clean way to let them help you ‘and’ restrict them to just see what you actually want them to manage.

To solve this problem, today we are launching a new feature called Roles. This page is located in Your Event > Setup > Roles. Now you can add people from your organization to your event and let them manage it, without sharing your account credentials. You don’t have to give them full access to your event data. They will have their own DoAttend accounts and will have access rights depending on what role you assign them in the event.

 

People can take any one of these 3 roles in an event.

  1. Owner
  2. Organizer
  3. Staff

Owner has full access to an event. There can be only one owner for an event.

Organizers also have full access to an event, except that their accounts will not be billed for the event’s paid orders. There can be more than one organizer for an event.

Only owner and organizers have rights to invite other people to be a Staff or Organizer in an event.

Staff have very limited access in an event. They can

  • Manage orders
  • Create At-venue registrations
  • Check-in people at the venue using DoAttend Check-in interface
  • Print badges for attendees
  • See attendee list and wait list

There can be more than one staff in an event. They don’t have access to any other part of event Admin section. Also they cannot export any data from the event.

Billing - For an event, only Owner is billed for paid orders and will be considered for monthly payouts(in the case of INR orders).

Event ownership & Cloning:
Organizers and staff have their own DoAttend accounts. The account that creates an event becomes its owner automatically. So if a staff or organizer “creates” a new event, that account will become the owner and it will be billed for that event’s paid orders.

Suppose you are an Organizer for an event and if you want to create a similar event for your organization (under the same owner), “clone” the event. Only Owner or Organizer can clone events. Cloning an event automatically copies all of its people and roles. Otherwise – for every new event you create, Staff/Organizers have to be manually invited.

Activity log:
With more than one people managing an event, it is very important to log every activity. So any action performed by event Owner, organizers and staff are recorded. Only owner and organizers have access to the this log. Click “See all activity” link in the “Roles” page to see it. This log can also be exported to a CSV file.

Notifications to owner – When organizers or staff perform any critical operation in an event (like deleting orders, inviting new guests, etc.,), the event’s owner is emailed about this action.

Add a new person to your event:

  1. Go to Your event > Setup > Roles page.
  2. In “Add a Person” section, write name and email address of the person.
  3. Choose a role
  4. And click “Send Invitation”

The person will receive an email containing a link to accept your invitation. If they already have an account in DoAttend, the link will ask for their account credentials. They can then sign in and accept your invitation. If they don’t have an account in DoAttend, they will have to confirm their new account first. After getting a DoAttend account, they can accept the invitation.

Note – Only after accepting your invitation, the event will be accessible for them.

Resend an invitation:

  1. Go to Your event > Setup > Roles page.
  2. Click on a person’s name. A pop up box will open that contains that person’s information.
  3. Click “Send invitation again”. Invitation email will be sent to him immediately.

Remove a person from your event:

  1. Go to Your event > Setup > Roles page.
  2. Click on a person’s name. A pop up box will open that contains that person’s information.
  3. Click “Remove this person” link that is placed in the left bottom corner of this box. After confirmation, that person will be removed from the event.

Note – the person is removed only from the event and not from DoAttend. His account would still exist but he won’t be able to access the event. Any activity performed by him previously is retained.

Change a person’s role:

  1. Go to Your event > Setup > Roles page.
  2. Click on a person’s name. A pop up box will open that contains that person’s information.
  3. Choose a role – Organizer or Staff.
  4. Click “Save”

Turn on/off email notifications:

When a new order is placed in the event, notifications will be sent to those who are subscribed to notifications. Owner always receives these notifications. Organizers are subscribed by default, once they accept their invitation. For staff, an owner or organizer have to manually subscribe them.

  1. Go to Your event > Setup > Roles page.
  2. Click on a person’s name. A pop up box will open that contains a person’s information.
  3. Check/Uncheck “Send new order notifications” checkbox
  4. Click “Save”
We wanted to make this feature very simple to use and have made sure that this doesn’t come in the way of organizing a great event. If you have any suggestions or queries, please post them below as comments.
This entry was posted in Features & How To, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
About the author: Anand
Web Developer